Pacific trade pact to start at end-2018 after six members ratify

Created 31 October 2018
  • PDF
Editor Choice
(0 votes, average 0 out of 5)

Australia has become the sixth nation to formally ratify the CPTPP, the New Zealand government said on Wednesday.
Pacific trade pact to start at end-2018 after six members ratify

The landmark 11-member trade deal aimed at slashing barriers in some of Asia Pacific’s fastest growing economies will come into force at the end of December, it added.

Other countries that have ratified the deal are Canada, Japan, Mexico and Singapore.

“This triggers the 60 day countdown to entry into force of the Agreement and the first round of tariff cuts,” said New Zealand Trade and Export Growth Minister David Parker. His country is responsible for official tasks such as receiving and circulating notifications made by members of the pact.

The original 12-member deal was thrown into limbo early last year when President Donald Trump withdrew from the agreement to prioritize protecting U.S. jobs.

The 11 remaining nations, led by Japan, finalised a revised trade pact in January, called the CPTPP.

The success of the deal has been touted by officials in Japan and other member countries as an antidote to counter growing U.S. protectionism, and with the hope that Washington would eventually sign back up.

Australia said the agreement will boost agricultural exports, set to be worth more than A$52 billion ($36.91 billion) this year despite a crippling drought across much of the country’s east coast.

“It will give Australian grain farmers a good reason to smile, at a time when drought conditions have played havoc for many, by ensuring improved market access and better grain prices once more favorable seasonal conditions return,” said Luke Mathews, trading and economics manager at industry body, GrainGrowers Australia.

The deal will reduce tariffs in economies that together amount to more than 13 percent of global GDP - a total of $10 trillion. With the United States, it would have represented 40 percent.

The five member countries still to ratify the deal are Brunei, Chile, Malaysia, Peru and Vietnam.

Source: VNE

Maybe You Also Interesting :

» Vietnamese-Australian pianist performs with local vocalist

Vietnamese-Australian pianist Van-Anh Nguyen will share the stage with top vocalist Doan Trang at Hotel Des Arts Saigon’s Social Club Restaurant on March 22.

» Over 20 young leaders to join Australia-Vietnam Young Leadership Dialogue

Twenty-two young leaders representing Australia and Vietnam will take part in the 2019 Australia-Vietnam Young Leadership Dialogue (AVYLD), which will be held...

» Vietnam, New Zealand agree to bolster cooperation

A delegation from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs attended the 11th Vietnam-New Zealand Political Consultation held in Wellington on March 18-19.

Popular News Categories:

- Asia & Asean  |  EU & Russia  |  America

- Facts  |  Urban  |  Faculty  |  Environment

- Business  |  Finance  |  Market Health

- Destination  |  Cuisine  |  Arts Music

- Cinema  |  Soccer  |  Sports  |  IT & Internet